Shupette – Shu Uemura’s Christmas Collection with Karl Lagerfeld (featuring lashings of lashes!)

Shu Uemura recently released their Christmas collection, a collaboration with Karl Lagerfeld. The collection is inspired by and named after Lagerfeld’s cat, Choupette. Haven’t heard of Choupette before? This even little lady has her own twitter page!  She can be seen in the promo picture below.

collection_secand
Okay, I’ll start talking more about the collection and less about Choupette!

I’ve seen a lot of bloggers slam the collection as being “childish” or “badly designed”, because of course, anything that isn’t in plain packaging is childish, doncha know? I personally think that the product design is lovely. It’s not too over the top, it’s just Choupette herself sitting her queenly self and possibly judging my makeup application skills. I’m talking about Choupette again, aren’t I?
The collection includes powder, blush, eye and lip palettes, cleanser, eye pencils, and, of course, eyelashes. Now, anyone who knows me at all knows that I’m absolutely mad about eyelashes. I bought both of the limited edition Shu lashes from last year’s Christmas collection, and they’ve had quite a bit of wear. For that reason, I zoomed in on the lashes, and I don’t think I’ll be disappointed!

First up, the Eye-Need-Shu Lashes
14xmas_ne_1_922x1024The shape of these lashes really stands out. I’m quite a fan of less natural, more iconic lashes such as these, so I believe they’ll be going on the shopping list! The lashes are accented with metallic silver and blue crystals (the same colour as Choupette’s eyes!). These lashes are retailing for $29.

The second pair of lashes in this collection are called Furry Fantasy (sharp intake of breath)
14xmas_PE_case_2_922x1024 So they obviously didn’t think of the things that pop into some minds when the phrase ‘furry fantasy’ is uttered. Regardless, these lashes are absolutely adorable. They can be seen worn in many of the promo photos for the collection, such as this:14xmas_kv01_1x1.4ac51165724.originalThey’re fluttery, they’re soft, they have jewel detailing, and most importantly, they’re HUGE. Wouldn’t Choupette herself be proud? When I say proud, I mean she’d probably want to play with them, but surely that’s a cat’s seal of approval? These lashes will set you back $75

After the lashes, one sure buy from the collection for me is the Ultime8 Cleansing Oil
14xmas_PRODUCT_CO_922x1024
My bottle of Shu cleansing oil is running out, so what better time to replenish the supply than when this little cutie is gracing the packaging? The Ultime8 cleansing oil costs $90.

That’s all for now! Hopefully I’ll soon be able to review some of the collection!

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shupette – Shu Uemura’s Christmas Collection with Karl Lagerfeld (featuring lashings of lashes!)

  1. V says:

    Maybe I’m a crazy cat person, but I think the packaging is FUN. And this is coming from someone who thinks Lime Crime packaging is childish, haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

